About Me

My photo
My name is Chelsey and I am the creator of Charming Chelsey's! I read and review anything and everything that I find to be "charming." I accept ARCs or already released books for review, and I'm also available to participate in any blog tours or book reveals too. If anything, please don't hesitate to email me any time for any reason at: charmingchelseys(at)gmail(dot)com

Follow by Email

Blogs I Follow!

Powered by Blogger.
Saturday, February 9, 2013

Book Review: An Affair to Dismember

An Affair to Dismember (The Matchmaker, #1)Author: Elise Sax
Publication Date: January 29, 2013
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Series: The Matchmaker # 1

Certain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Cruise, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax’s hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance.

Three months has been Gladie Burger’s limit when it comes to staying in one place: She’s always been a temp agency kind of girl, ever ready to move on. That’s why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her eccentric Grandma Zelda recruits her to the family business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. Gladie is also highly unqualified: Her beloved grandmother’s business is matchmaking, and Gladie has a terrible track record with romance. Still, despite evidence to the contrary, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has “the gift.” But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy.

When Zelda’s neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family’s drama. Despite warnings from the (distractingly gorgeous) chief of police to steer clear of his investigation, Gladie is out to prove that her neighbor’s death was murder. It’s not too long before she’s in way over her head—with the hunky police chief, a dysfunctional family full of possible killers, and yet another mysterious and handsome man, whose attentions she’s unable to ignore. Gladie is clearly being pursued—either by true love or by a murderer. Who will catch her first?



“Remember, love can come from anywhere, usually where you least expect it.” – Paperback Copy pg. 1

 
“‘Grandma, I’m not a matchmaker,’ I said to her stapler. ‘I’ve never even had a successful relationship. I wouldn’t know one if I saw one.’” – Paperback Copy pg. 2

 
“I cannot tell a lie, dolly. I have gotten in over my head more than once in this business. I bite off more than I can chew. I think I’ve got it all taken care of and then – boom! zing! – it all changes on me. What do you do in times like these when you’re drowning? Tread water and call for help, of course. Maybe the lifeguard will be a cutie pie and you can match him with the mayor’s daughter. Silver lining, Gladie, silver lining.” – Paperback Copy pg. 86

 
“Sometimes love dies. It croaks. It bites the dust, buys the farm, kicks the bucket. Dead. Deader than a doornail. Are you getting the picture, bubeleh? First you think he walks on water and then you’re not sure he can even walk up right. Falling out of love doesn’t just happen to old married couples.” – Paperback Copy pg. 184



 
Gladie Burger’s grandma Zelda is convinced that she will be the perfect matchmaker and the perfect girl to carry on the family’s name. But after three months of matchmaker training and no in the “making matches” department, Gladie is ready to throw in the towel and walk away from Zelda’s Matchmaking Services. Gladie, being the sporadic character that she is, stumbles onto a crime scene that appears to be a potential homicide. Gladie is thrown right into the mix with a pot full of potential suspects. Right from the start she has mixed feelings about the hunky new police chief, Spencer Bolton. Then just to make matters worse she can’t quite figure out her brand new, but very gorgeous neighbor, Arthur Holden. Gladie may have some personal matchmaking to do!

 
I am so proud of myself for reading so many debuts already in 2013. This is just another one that I can add to my list, and this makes another debut that I was greatly pleased with. This is going to be a wonderful, new contemporary romance series. I love the matchmaking aspect and the characters of Gladie and her grandma Zelda. Both of these lovely ladies brought so much humor to the pages and I believe the blurb is right; fans of Janet Evanovich will absolutely love this book. Gladie was a bit scatterbrained and full of spontaneity and I loved it because I never knew what to expect from her. She was constantly doing things that had me chuckling all the way through. Her grandmother, Zelda, is one of those women that never hide what is on her mind. She wants the best for Gladie and will stop at nothing to make sure Gladie is happy, as long as it what grandma Zelda wants too!

 
The romance/love triangle was nicely built and very enjoyable to read. If you can just imagine two gorgeous guys and one clumsy Gladie in the mix! Not to mention a cast of amazing secondary characters as well. Reading Gladie’s love life unfold and seeing these two very different men fight for her attention has never been more fun for me. I think Gladie’s personality, alongside the personality of her best friends, was just written so realistically that it was so easy to follow and believe. I am so anxious for the next book in this series, which is due to release in the end of July. I cannot wait to see how this love triangle plays out! I hope to see more of Gladie’s best friends and her grandma as well.

 
***A copy of this book was sent to me by the publishers at Ballantine Books in exchange for my honest, unbiased review***





2 comments:

Shane said...

Great review. Glad you enjoyed it cause this one sounds hot.

Leigh Ann said...

Sounds like a good book! Your blog is adorable! I found you on Book Blogs and I am now your newest follower! I hope you are having a great Monday and that you'll stop by for a visit sometime when you get the chance. :)

Leigh Ann
MaMa's Book Corner

Followers

Follow Me!

Blog Archive