About Me

My photo
My name is Chelsey and I am the creator of Charming Chelsey's! I read and review anything and everything that I find to be "charming." I accept ARCs or already released books for review, and I'm also available to participate in any blog tours or book reveals too. If anything, please don't hesitate to email me any time for any reason at: charmingchelseys(at)gmail(dot)com

Rating System

Follow by Email

Blogs I Follow!

Powered by Blogger.
Tuesday, May 7, 2013

ARC Book Review: His Majesty's Hope

His Majesty's HopeAuthor: Susan Elia MacNeal
Publication Date: May 14, 2013
Publisher: Bantam Books
Series: Maggie Hope Mystery # 3

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.
 
World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive—a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad—and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine.
 
Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war—and of her own past.


Maggie ran at him, kneeing him in the groin, hard. While he was doubled over, she elbowed him in the back of the head. Satisfied he was unconscious, she ran to the door, folders still in hand.

As they walked together, Elise said, “You didn’t say ‘Heil Hitler’ to them. Weren’t you afraid of being arrested?” “My dear,” the priest replied, opening the door behind the altar that led down into the crypt and letting them all enter first. “I made the decision a very long time ago not to say ‘heil’ to anyone but God.”

 
Hell was just what Maggie Hope had trained for.

 
She contemplated on writing I love you, then decided on xoxo Maggie.

I am in love with everything about this series. The Maggie Hope Mysteries are one of those series of books that help you remember why you love to read so much! I became enthralled by the heroine, Maggie Hope, and her occupation as a spy. The historical background of these novels, World War II, also adds to the hype. I can never get enough historical fiction. Susan has a knack for writing strong characters and is able to embed tiny traits and characteristics that may seem simple and small to the average person, but to the reader who spends so much time with these characters and their surroundings, those small details make the big picture come alive!

 
I find myself loving the first few books with most series, and then finding small things that I hate towards the end of them. However, this was not the case with this series and with this particular book. I thought that Susan’s writing, character and plot development, and the suspense only got better with this third installment. The book and mainly the writing does have a more somber appeal to it this time, but you must consider the time period and what is going on in the world: World War II. Maggie is getting close and personal with the Nazis in this novel, and is being dropped into wartime Germany. I was so thrilled to learn this! Readers, the action has just begun!

 
Maggie is still the most charming part of this series, and I stand by my belief that she and I would be the greatest of friends. She is extremely stubborn, but in a way that makes it almost funny. She is just a determined woman who carries her thoughts on her shoulders. She stands by her causes and fights for them until she has nothing left. I think this is a character that any reader can stand behind!

 
***An ARC copy of this book was provided to me by the publishers at Bantam in exchange for my honest review***



1 comments:

Rissi said...

Hmm... sounds like an interesting, compelling read, Chelsey! Books that put a unique spin on old ideas seem to catch my eye even more than the norm. Thanks for sharing. :)

Followers

Follow Me!

Grab My Button!

Blog Archive

My Blog Designer