About Me

My photo
My name is Chelsey and I am the creator of Charming Chelsey's! I read and review anything and everything that I find to be "charming." I accept ARCs or already released books for review, and I'm also available to participate in any blog tours or book reveals too. If anything, please don't hesitate to email me any time for any reason at: charmingchelseys(at)gmail(dot)com

Follow by Email

Blogs I Follow!

Powered by Blogger.
Sunday, September 8, 2013

Book Review: The Deepest Night


The Deepest Night (The Sweetest Dark, #2)Author: Shana Abe
Publication Date:  August 13, 2013
Publisher: Bantam
Series: The Sweetest Dark # 2

A rich portrait of post-Victorian England, The Deepest Night seamlessly blends thrilling romance with riveting history and adventure—perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Lauren Kate.

It’s 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a prestigious, gothic boarding school on England’s southern coast. While she’s always felt different from everyone around her, now she finally knows why: She is a drákon, a rare, enchanted being with astonishing magical abilities.

As war hits Britain’s shores, and Lora reels from an unimaginable loss, she finds that her powers come with grave and dangerous responsibilities. At the request of Armand Louis, the darkly mysterious boy whose father owns Iverson, Lora will spend her summer at his lavish estate. To help the war effort—and to keep Lora by his side—Armand turns his home into a military hospital, where Lora will serve as a nurse. For Armand is inescapably drawn to her—bound to her by heart-deep secrets and a supernatural connection that runs thicker than blood.

Yet while Lora tries to sort out her own feelings toward Armand, fate offers an unexpected surprise. Lora discovers there is another drákon, a prisoner of war being held in Germany. And that only she, with her newly honed Gifts, will be able to rescue him.

With Armand, Lora will cross enemy lines on an incredible mission—one that could bond her to Armand forever, or irrevocably tear them apart.

Beautifully written, deeply romantic, and filled with daring adventure and magic, The Deepest Night is a mesmerizing novel of the enduring pull of destiny, and the eternal strength of love.


There was me: Eleanore Jones, orphaned, impoverished, a slum girl scholarship student from the ghettos of London somehow improbably attending the prestigious Iverson School for Girls.

Oh, the stars, twinkling and winking at me. Come out, they sang, a celestial chorus only I could hear. Come out, beast. Come fly to us.

Once there were dragons everywhere. Knit from the bones of the earth and the glory of the heavens, they hovered in the Divide, that thin wedge of existence that separates feral, untamed magic from safe, tamed lives.

They glistened metallic bright, thin as wisps and swift as lightning. They scored the skies with wings and claws but walked on land as well, able to assume the shape of their mortal enemies – humans – when they wished. To live among them in human disguise.

The first book in this series was so unbelievable and absolutely on this author and her beautiful writing style. I was even more thrilled when I learned that this book picks up right where the last one left off; I love when sequels do that. Her writing is so descriptive and full of imagery that I just immediately get swept into this majestic world that she has created for her readers. Not to mention that I love the world war setting. Everything about this book is a win for me, and I highly encourage anyone that is remotely interested in anything I have just said to go out and buy the first and second book in this series!

Lora is a really relatable and strong heroine. There is a turn of events in her recent love life, but I do not want to spoil this for those who have not read the first book. I think that as a character, Lora has gotten stronger and has developed some strengths that she didn’t quite possess in the first book. Of course, the recent chain of events in her life has made her skin thicker than ever before. I love to see a character change for the better throughout a series, and Abe has definitely created a growing and ever-changing character in Lora. And I mean that in the most positive way possible.

This book and the characters and events that take place in it are all so adventurous. There is magic, mayhem, fantasy, and romance intertwined in this awesome series. The world building is out of this world, and makes me wish that Hollywood would develop this series into a movie! Like I said, Abe’s descriptions just make you want to be right alongside Lora on all her adventures! I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a little bit of fantasy with a dash of romance!

***A copy of this book was provided to me by the publishers at Bantam Dell in exchange for my honest review***




0 comments:

Followers

Follow Me!

Blog Archive