About Me

My photo
My name is Chelsey and I am the creator of Charming Chelsey's! I read and review anything and everything that I find to be "charming." I accept ARCs or already released books for review, and I'm also available to participate in any blog tours or book reveals too. If anything, please don't hesitate to email me any time for any reason at: charmingchelseys(at)gmail(dot)com

Follow by Email

Blogs I Follow!

Powered by Blogger.
Sunday, March 6, 2016

Book Review: Black Rabbit Hall

Black Rabbit HallAuthor: Eve Chase
Publication Date: February 9, 2016
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons


For fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Waters, here’s a magnetic debut novel of wrenching family secrets, forbidden love, and heartbreaking loss housed within the grand gothic manor of Black Rabbit Hall.

Ghosts are everywhere, not just the ghost of Momma in the woods, but ghosts of us too, what we used to be like in those long summers . . .

Amber Alton knows that the hours pass differently at Black Rabbit Hall, her London family’s country estate, where no two clocks read the same. Summers there are perfect, timeless. Not much ever happens. Until, of course, it does. 

More than three decades later, Lorna is determined to be married within the grand, ivy-covered walls of Pencraw Hall, known as Black Rabbit Hall among the locals. But as she’s drawn deeper into the overgrown grounds, half-buried memories of her mother begin to surface and Lorna soon finds herself ensnared within the manor’s labyrinthine history, overcome with an insatiable need for answers about her own past and that of the once-happy family whose memory still haunts the estate.

Stunning and atmospheric, this debut novel is a thrilling spiral into the hearts of two women separated by decades but inescapably linked by the dark and tangled secrets of Black Rabbit Hall.


“I always say to Daddy that Black Rabbit Hall is the one still sane point in this mad, changing world. It’s our safe, happy place, isn’t it, Amber?”

The pull of the house is just a little too strong.


It really would be quite easy to get lost in Black Rabbit Hall. To think you were going in one direction but he heading entirely in another.

This book was absolutely fantastic! Gothic, house full of secrets, romantic, and reminiscent of Kate Morton; I loved every inch of it. The book is written as a multi-period mystery and the point of views shift back and forth, always bringing readers back to modern day. The prose is as elegant as I imagined the house to be; it felt like I was watching a film instead of reading a book. This was a debut novel for Eve Chase and I am so excited to see what more will come from her. The mystery was one that I thought I had figured out and then was totally shocked when it began to unfold. I can’t stress to readers enough how much this book will grab you and pull you in. I was unable to put it down.

The setting will be such an escape for any reader willing to dive into this book. The shift in time periods was done so beautifully and did not take away any magic from Black Rabbit Hall. I could picture it in the 1960’s and I could picture it in modern day. The family secret was another stellar part of this book. Like I said earlier, I thought I had figured it all out, but I was completely shocked when everything was revealed. The characters were ones that I came to care for and wonder about even when I was not reading. If this review does not convince you to give this book a try, then I don’t know what will!


***A free copy of this book was provided to me by the publishers at G.P. Putnam’s Sons in exchange for my honest review***


0 comments:

Followers

Follow Me!