About Me

My photo
My name is Chelsey and I am the creator of Charming Chelsey's! I read and review anything and everything that I find to be "charming." I accept ARCs or already released books for review, and I'm also available to participate in any blog tours or book reveals too. If anything, please don't hesitate to email me any time for any reason at: charmingchelseys(at)gmail(dot)com

Rating System

Follow by Email

Blogs I Follow!

Powered by Blogger.
Monday, June 19, 2017

Book Review: The Young Wives Club

The Young Wives ClubAuthor: Julie Pennell
Publication Date: February 14, 2017
Publisher: Atria


In Toulouse, Louisiana finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you’re lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and Desperate Housewives. 

Laura Landry’s quarterback husband was her ticket out of Toulouse. But when a devastating football injury sidelines him, they’re forced to move back to the small town she was so desperate to leave. As Brian starts drinking instead of rehabbing his knee, Laura must reevaluate what her future looks like…and if it includes her husband.

For years, Madison Blanchette has been waiting for bad-boy musician Cash Romero to commit to her. When wealthy George Dubois asks her out, she figures she may as well wait in style. Life with George means weekend trips to New Orleans, gourmet meals, and expensive gifts. At first she loves how George’s affection sparks Cash’s jealousy, but when George proposes to Madison, she finds herself torn between two men…

All Claire Thibodeaux wants is to be the perfect wife and mother. If she can do everything right she won’t end up like her mom, a divorced, single parent trying to make ends meet. But when Claire’s husband Gavin, a well-respected local pastor, starts spending late nights at work and less time in their bed, she can’t help but fear that history is about to repeat itself…

Gabrielle Vaughn never thought she’d end up with someone like her fianc√©. The son of a prominent congressman, Tony Ford is completely out of her league—which is why she lied to him about everything from having a college degree to the dark truth about her family. She knows she has to come clean, but how do you tell the love of your life that your entire relationship is a lie?

As these young wives come together to help each other through life, love, and heartbreak, they discover that there are no easy answers when it comes to matters of the heart.


“Things change. And you can’t regret anything that you’ve done. You make decisions based on what you can see in that moment. Sometimes the view shifts.”

“Do not let yourself get lost in this marriage, and don’t forget to follow your own dreams.”


“You should never feel guilty about doing things for you. When you love yourself, it’ll be so much easier for you to love someone else.”

This book was a quick, summer read that was light and full of charming characters that it was easy to love and support. The story flips between four perspectives – friends that are all involved in somewhat committed relationships and are each dealing with their own struggles but bond together through their friendships to help each other make some pretty tough decisions. You might be thinking that the 4 POV’s could get confusing, but they don’t and each parallel story is very easy to follow. Each character is at a completely different point in her life, but they are bonded by similar life altering feelings and issues. The chapters are short and are really easy to get through. I was satisfied with the ending of each girl’s story. I felt that they all made the right decisions in their love lives and each of them showed some type of mental or emotional growth.

The only issue that I had with this book was the young age of the characters. Most of them were 18 or so and one of them even dropped out of high school in order to marry her husband and follow his football career. I must admit that I hated this fact, but did not let it deter me from reading and enjoying the entire story. The best thing about this book is how character driven it is. You get a lot of back story about each character and insight into their lives and the lives of the people they know and love. They felt so real and allowed me to hang on waiting to see how each girl’s story line would play out. I feel like I should mention that this is a debut author, and I am personally looking forward to more from this author.


***A free copy of this book was provided to me from the publishers at Atria in exchange for my honest review***



0 comments:

Followers

Follow Me!

Grab My Button!

My Blog Designer