About Me

My photo
My name is Chelsey and I am the creator of Charming Chelsey's! I read and review anything and everything that I find to be "charming." I accept ARCs or already released books for review, and I'm also available to participate in any blog tours or book reveals too. If anything, please don't hesitate to email me any time for any reason at: charmingchelseys(at)gmail(dot)com

Follow by Email

Blogs I Follow!

Powered by Blogger.
Thursday, August 10, 2017

Book Review: The Witches of New York

The Witches of New YorkAuthor: Ami McKay
Publication Date: July 11, 2017
Publisher: Harper Perennial


In the vein of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, comes a new novel from historical fiction maven Ami McKay that transports readers to the heart of Victorian New York, where three witches practice their craft—to the delight of some—but at their own peril.

Respectable Lady Seeks Dependable Shop Girl. Those averse to magic need not apply. 

New York in the spring of 1880 is a place alive with wonder and curiosity. Determined to learn the truth about the world, its residents enthusiastically engage in both scientific experimentation and spiritualist pursuits. Séances are the entertainment of choice in exclusive social circles, and many enterprising women—some possessed of true intuitive powers, and some gifted with the art of performance—find work as mediums.

Enter Adelaide Thom and Eleanor St. Clair. At their humble teashop, Tea and Sympathy, they provide a place for whispered confessions, secret cures, and spiritual assignations for a select society of ladies, who speak the right words and ask the right questions. But the profile of Tea and Sympathy is about to change with the fortuitous arrival of Beatrice Dunn.

When seventeen-year-old Beatrice leaves the safety of her village to answer an ad that reads "Respectable Lady Seeks Dependable Shop Girl. Those averse to magic need not apply," she has little inclination of what the job will demand of her. Beatrice doesn't know it yet, but she is no ordinary small-town girl; she has great spiritual gifts—ones that will serve as her greatest asset and also place her in grave danger. Under the tutelage of Adelaide and Eleanor, Beatrice comes to harness many of her powers, but not even they can prepare her for the evils lurking in the darkest corners of the city or the courage it will take to face them.

Her cards: Deceit. Ruin. Death.

Stepping off the stool, she gave herself over to God to do the rest.

“What if I’m too scared?” “All the more reason to speak your mind.”


I love anything “witchy” so I knew this book would be right up my alley. Honestly, I got serious Practical Magic vibes when I was reading. Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman is one of my favorite books of all-time. This book is filled with three strong, independent, and confident women who are living in a time when witchcraft is shunned and your actions involving witchcraft will make you a pariah. They are brave, resourceful, and not afraid to be stand outs in a time when women were expected to blend in. The story opens with a little background about Eleanor and Adelaide as they bring on Beatrice for extra help in their apothecary shop. Beatrice is just a young girl trying to find her way and is surprised to learn that finding her way might include unraveling her “spiritual” gifts.

This is a whopper of a book coming in at over 5oo pages, and the only reason that this book did not receive a five star rating from me was because there were quite a few storylines going on simultaneously and it was at times hard to follow for me, even though I never have trouble with this. I was much more intrigued with Beatrice’s story, but I completely understood the need for everything that went on in this book. The writing was outstanding and completely historically relevant which I greatly appreciated. Everything felt so real and intense, especially when ghosts were introduced and talked about. I loved this author’s writing and even though this was my first book by Ami McKay – it will not be my last.

***A free copy of this book was provided to me by the publishers at Harper Perennial in exchange for my honest review***


0 comments:

Followers

Follow Me!